Watch the reactions as Reba McEntire notifies the first three ACM Awards winners

Watch the reactions as Reba McEntire notifies the first three ACM Awards winners 

Posted: 12:41 am Tuesday, March 27th, 2018

By Jake Stewart

You don’t have to wait until the April 15 telecast to find out all the winners of the ACM Awards. The victors in the three new artist categories were revealed by the Academy of Country Music on March 26. They were also notified over the weekend by show host Reba McEntire, and as you’ll see in the videos below, those calls got pretty emotional.

Brett Young has been named new male vocalist of the year, winning in a competitive category that also included Kane Brown, Luke Combs, Devin Dawson and Russell Dickerson.

Seven years after “American Idol” launched her career, Lauren Alaina is the victor in the new female vocalist category, a field where ACM voters could only manage to come up with four nominees. The other three were Danielle Bradbery, Carly Pearce and RaeLynn.

ACM voters also chose Midland as their new vocal duo or group of the year. The trio beat High Valley, LANCO, LOCASH and Runaway June for the honor.
While all the notification videos capture special moments, our favorite is Reba’s call to Lauren, who immediately bursts into tears as the country superstar tells her, “Honey, I’m so proud for you,” then later adds, “That’s the most priceless reaction.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s